Monday, March 31, 2008

62nd Annual Reuben Award Nominees

From the National Cartoonists Society site:

The nominees for this year's Reuben Award for Outstanding Cartoonist of the Year are "Speed Bump" creator Dave Coverly, Mad Magazine Veteran Al Jaffee, and "Bizarro" Creator Dan Piraro. The winner will be announced at the 62nd Reuben Awards Ceremony, to be held in New Orleans May 25.

And nominees for most of the dozen NCS Division Award categories have been announced. The list should be complete in the next day or two. More here.

UPDATE: Related: a New York Times Al Jaffee interview.


Mark Anderson said...

I'm so glad to see Jaffee nominated! And two panel cartoonists to boot.

No strips this year, huh?

Mike Lynch said...

Strips are nominated, yes.

At this time all of the nominees, except for two categories (Advertising Illustration and Newspaper Panels), have been announced.

Robert Gidley said...

Boy, I'm sure glad I don't have to decide which of those three should get the Outstanding Cartoonist award. They're all very funny and good at drawing, too!